Watashi no Shugyo Renshu

3 04 2008

I got this word from Rick Matz’s site One of my favorite blog stops.

mtnShugyo (修行) may be defined literally as “conducting oneself in a way that inspires mastery”. While the meaning of the kanji used in “shu” was originally translated as ‘using a brush to strike away the dust that obscures the viewing of a persons original elegance’, the combined kanji of “shu” and “gyo” (carrying out, walking along) is now generally translated as simply “severe or austere training”. The kanji rendered for this version of “shugyo” is most commonly associated with Buddhist asceticism, and most notably, the “shugenja” (修験者, ascetic mountain-dwelling monks).

Ok so what does this have to do with me… Well I finally got the notice about the Kyudo retreat:

Kyudo Program @ Sonoma Mountain Zen Center su Kyudo
First Shot Beginners: May 15 (evening) – May 18, 2008
Intermediate: May 14 (evening) – May 18, 2008
The contemplative practice of Kyudo, when taken up with patience and attention to detail, is a dynamic way to balance the body, focus the mind, and open the heart. When a student lets go of goals and expectations, Beginner’s Mind is revealed. The physical aspect of Kyudo is inseparable from its spiritual aspect. The form
provides a subtle mirror of the mind throughout the movements and continues with the arrow’s release. In this retreat, beginners will receive training in the basic Kyudo form, called “The
Seven Coordinations.” Intermediate students will review the basic shooting forms and have the opportunity for long distance training
and practice, including formal group shooting. The retreat will take place at Sonoma Mountain Zen Center, Genjo-ji, which is under the guidance of Jakusho Kwong-roshi.
It is an integrated residential program that, in addition to kyudo training, will include morning and evening zazen and periods of work practice. Meditation instruction will be available. This provides a unique opportunity for Kyudo training within the container
of Zen Practice.

————

Nice eh, yeah, I thought so. I have decided to spend the next couple of months, April & May in training, Body and Spirit. There are so many things I need to get organized around the house in in my life. From paperwork, cleaning the storage, working on the boat, upgrading software skills, my patio garden, car, sailing time, to my Gung Fu practice. As well as put in some time for serious longer meditation. We are ok for the next 6 months as far as getting by for living. It will be tight but we can do it. There are also a couple of things in the wings that when they land will make things a bit easier. However anyway, I need to train and re-organize. These retreats will help my spiritual part focus. The Kyudo retreat should be very cool. Living on the Sonoma Zen Mtn Grounds, with no distractions from practice, Zen, Kyudo, Tai Chi, writing. I will take my laptop but there is no internet. So I can just write & read in the evenings. Nice. The following weekend is the Heart Zen group retreat oceanside. So more meditation, Tai Chi & writing, although more evening distractions, since we can visit our “buds” in Monterey. All of this is going to be a drain money wise, but, it will be the last for a while. I believe it will be worth it. I may skip my Tai Chi Mantis seminar this year, if needed. Next year we are off to Japan for a final visit before moving, so there will be no retreats or the like for us. This year’s retreats and the next two months are my Shugyo Renshu period. Interesting for me that it pretty much kicks off with Tian Shifu’s visit and ends with the Heart Zen retreat. The weekend following that I am off to give a Kali Seminar @ the San Bernadino Tai Mantis school. That money will be used to pay for the prior retreats. As me Mum would say, God is good!

the cushion

I’m expecting something to happen around June workwise. I’m not sure what I just have a feeling. Let’s see. So now is my time to “practice” and use this freedom I have been given. I’m suppose to be taking care of something… So I’ll Ganbarimasu in my Shugyo Renshu…Yosh Yosh!!

Actions

Information

2 responses

5 04 2008
Rick Matz

Ganbatte!

6 07 2008

Leave a Reply

