This N That, that n this

21 06 2008

Life is not full of sunny days, love n happiness, and flowers nor are real blogs by real people. Alot of things are going on these days, not all pleasant, some are. Standard Yin and Yang. Studying Zen is about being Happy even when things are bad. Finding Joy in Sadness is another way of saying it. Overall I’m in a good state of mind. But some things bug me and disrupt my “Wa”

I’m not pleased about several things right now. In the big picture of life, small beans…or the pea in the bed. I got a letter from our condo management company saying, I had to replace a window in the club house…What??!!  It said I broke it and rule something something said I need to replace it in 30 days. Grrrrrrrr. I did not even know there was a broken window!!! My students and I are very respectful of the place and the people who use it. I was not happy to get the letter. I wrote back. I DID NOT break any window. I want the person who said I did to face me and say it and be ready to prove it in front of a Judge!!  I will not pay! Grrrr, Some excuse to get me to stop working out there with my students I think. I heard they have been bringing me teaching up in the owners meetings. I only have sometime three students there, most times two. This may turn into a big thing, crap. I pay my dues I should be able to use the club house for guests and exercise. I keep things very low key. There is always the park across the street, not great but, people do it. Winter will be the problem. However unless I get some real work soon, all this will be mute as we will lose the condo and have to move… non-attachment is a good thing.

Next it really bugs me when I take the time to write folks emails about whatever and get no reply! Not even a simple courteous, yes, no , maybe, thanks whatever!! I have written about 6 or so emails to different folks on different topics and no one has said boo in return!! I know it works, because sailing work related mails I get answers. Sigh, I know I expect too much of people sometimes, manners, politness and such, I try to keep that to a minimum, but sometimes… one wants a bit of courtesy. Sigh, I’ll need to work on that fault of mine. Ommm Ommmm 🙂

With the economy as it is, as I said, we have been thinking about major what if’s… scary times.

The government has come up with yet another way to get money. They now want people who spent over $1,000 to get their Captain license to carry a new card when working ( as in teaching a sailing class) that proves something about they are not terrorist! This new card cost 300.00 dollars! If one does not have it, their license maybe revoked. Isn’t THAT special!!!

For the 5 or so regular readers, not the spammers, you may recall I said back in April I had a “feeling” ( the Zen sense) something would happen work wise in June. It did, and is, it is not enough to save our home, but we will not starve 🙂 That is a good thing! Possessions, things, home cars, boats, whatever are temporary anyway. Health is our most important life value. Buddha said, non-attachment is the way, Jesus said give unto Ceasar what is Ceasar’s…and old Kung Fu Shifu ( who lost a lot of money) of mine once said, it is all a game anyway. Anyway we still have about 3 months before we run out enough money to survive as we are.

Interestingly I have been reading this book called 9 night with a Taoist Master there are many statement about relaxing and letting the “Tao” “God” take care of things. I’m trying to stay in that mindset. Sometimes it is not easy…sometimes it is.

There maybe another bit of light, I applied for a job at the college I went to for graphic design, they are looking for a media design person P/T. The pay is about what I was making hourly in the corporate world of design. They called!!! It is my first call since the bomb fell back in March. I did not speak with the person as I was out at a sailing instructor meeting at the new place, but they left a message. I am guessing it is for an interview, otherwise why would they call. If I can land this, along with the other P/T work this we could hang in there, until I get another break or we head off for Japan after cutting our loses. I could also get a chance to work on my ceramics again.

I heard today that unemployment in Cal was at it’s new high since 1970 something! I would not have guessed it when driving through Berkeley/Rockridge today on the way to band rehearsal. The restaurants and shops were full of people. Eating, laughing, shopping , etc.

The show/wedding /play is tomorrow. I’m looking forward to that, I always shift into a different space when I get to play! # 2 son will attend with Lady Z. It will be his first time seeing his old man play. Wonder if he cares…teens. Seems he mostly cares about his X-box 360 🙂

I did hear him talking to his friend the other night about GW Bush ( he thinks he is an idiot), the environment, cars and such, there is some hope. :-

Life is an adventure ne! The good, Bad and the ugly, full of this n that!

Actions

Information

3 responses

23 06 2008
Rick Matz

“A flower falls, even though we love it; and a weed grows, even though we do not love it”

– Dogen

You can only do the work. You can’t control the outcomes.
– Me

23 06 2008
Zen

Not all flowers smell sweet, Not all weeds are bad…

26 06 2008
Mike McKay

I hear ya Zen. I’m in the same boat here in Japan. Rocky. I haven’t been to a restaurant for months and my wife and I haven’t been out on a date for much longer than that. No anniversary, birthday, Mother’s day or Father’s day this year. I had to cancel my trip back to the states for my 20 year reunion (it would have been the first time for me to go back since coming in 2000).

Hang in there Zen. I’m sending harmony your way.

🙂
Mike

Leave a Reply

