Mantis Season 08′ – Training day 3

31 07 2008

Weds, was hotter, still not as bad as it has been in the past. Sisuk was not there, Sibak took it a bit easier on us due to the heat he said.  We still reviewed and drilled. I think I almost have the correct pattern now on Gun luk. He came over and gave me a couple of detail corrections. Nice I asked Sifu about this one and the one from Shaolin. He said at one everyone did the same. Since Jing Wu all the Tai Chi mantis schools do this version we are working on now. I need to cement this one in my brain and make a tape of it. It will be changed with Small Circular fist in my school’s curriculum.

We also added some more of Bumbu. SiBak handed out a list of 10 applications from the form. We went through 7 or 8 of them, I think it was 7. I’ll need to burn those in tonight.

The other thing we worked on was the first side of the two man sparing drill. Unlike the 4 by 4 drill Eng Sifu taught me years ago this one has some steps. It will be fun to do it with a partner. I’ll practice it with my classmates on a Friday session at Sifu’s. I’ll show it to the other students at my school, but they are not as much fun or challenge to work with.

Tonight is the 4th day of 5. I’m not as sire as I thought i would be by this time. I’m not bad really considering. Even though this is much more physically demanding, the Kyudo retreat was harder. Maybe because here I can go home at night and do not have to get up at 5:00am and sleep in my own bed. Also here I am with family.

Tomorrow will be a short session as we have dinner afterwards around 8 or so. It is always a relief, yet sad to finish up for another year. However for now I need to stay in the present and remember the new stuff I’m getting.

Actions

Information

One response

31 07 2008
Rick Matz

This has been a great series of posts. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

