A day in the Life – Gong Xi Fa Chai – 09′

26 01 2009

Earlier in the afternoon that day, my elder Kung fu brother called. He had just returned from Canada doing a seminar there in Toranto. We had a nice talk catching up on things. We also had a good laugh that he is considered a Grandmaster now and given much respect. Not that he is not worthy of it but just he does not take it so seriously as his followers. He has zero ego about it, and feels he is not old enough or together enough to be Grandmaster. Now I do have a younger classmate/student who has a huge ego. He has given himself a Dharma Master name and calls himself a Buddha. He’s skills are also not that good. Anyway I digress.  Back to my senior brother, he still sees himself as bumbling through things at times and tripping over his own feet and bang himself up with weapons when practicing. However he understands the linage thing and blames me for it in a way. I am the serious SiSuk (Uncle) who came down on his senior student for not following traditional protocol in addressing a senior Kung Fu family member.  I now have this rep among his linage of the hard-nose traditional uncle. heheh, kind of funny. I am pretty casual with my students, but I will come down on my classmates students for not following protocol. Then to I would have no problem with my classmates coming down on my students the same way. In fact I would expect it. When training with my former Shifu, we were very casual among ourselves. There was no tradition followed other than addressing Shifu. Since being involved with the Federation schools were there is more traditional manners, I push that more so not let the tradition die in this new age of diminishing respect. As Sisuk says training in Kung Fu is more that just learning moves, it is learning and carrying on tradition. Otherwise one might as well go to a gym. I have become him. H my brother, says I have a certain mystic among his students, which he encourages, we both laughed.

n728964637_1988300_2033

He told me of his upcoming nomination for something like the Nobel Prize, because of his development of his 9 Psalms Mantis style ( http://www.blackbeltmag.com/archives/245 ) and Sacred Geometry Movement how it connects on a atomic level to Quantum Physics and his entry into the Black Belt hall of fame or something like that. I was impressed and pleased for him. Not only on his achievements but his spiritual humility on things and philosophy. He says it is all about love and energy. He is pleased also about the complete opposite view of his Shang Mountain Mantis from the UFC mentality. He is one of the few people that see Shaolin as being about love and not all about violence. Also totally not against his Christian background or beliefs. It was a good way to start the afternoon chatting with him out of the blue.

Sat was not really Chinese New Year it was in fact New Year’s eve’s eve. No matter it was close enough that many were out in Chinatown for dinner. A lot of places were packed.

red-envelop

Ling Sisuk  invited LZ and  I to Chinese New Year Dinner. I had thought that he was taking his senior students from the school along as well. As it turns out it was only his family for the most part. Wife, brothers, their wives, his son in law, wife kids, etc. Only the immediate family it gave us much face to be invited with the group.  We ended up going to the restaurant where the Federation usually has our banquet. Sisuk is friends with the owner, very good friends I found out. The restaurant was packed, we had a private room where usually only the owners eats. LZ and I came with Sisuk and only Simo and Sisuk’s main employee the photographer were there. Simo went out for a bit, and just the 4 of us were there. One of the daughter inlaws came in I had not met here before. It is usually kind of funny to me to see the expressions of confusion when someone who does not know me sees me in a place with only Chinese are generally. Then if I say something in Chinese, they really are taken back. hahahah 🙂

Little by little everyone showed up. LZ and I were the only non-Chinese there. Having been in the same environment with the Chan group it was no big deal to me and I think she is also comfortable with it now. Then anyway she is use to being the only Japanese in the group most of the time and I am always as usual the only minority, so do not even give it a thought. Together we make up our own minority group the Blasian couple. Another reason it is nice to hang with the Tokyo Delegation we make our own clan.

The food started to arrive. Simo had made special request for something for me since I did not eat most of the things prepared. Item after item arrived, I had to still wait, she apologized and everyone said they felt bad, but I was fine, I’m used to it. I got to nibble on a few things, peanuts, ginger, rice until my dish arrived, some Chinese greens and Tofu with some pea pods. It was good, shortly some fish and tofu came for everyone. I was good to go from there. Simo supervised everyone and made sure I had enough to eat and take home.  She is great, very motherly.

We had the standard warm sweet beans for dessert. It was not my favorite years ago, it is still not, but I have gotten use to it. Then we were served something I had never had. some mango pudding , and some little gelaten like thingys. some were coconut with yellow bean, some were mint tasting with coconut and one was something else I forgot. I had never had them or saw them in a Chinese resturant. I asked Sisuk if they were something special for the Chinese New year like the Tea we were having was only served at New Year. He said no, it was not a New Year thing, it was served just for us. It is a special item but not just for NY. It was good! Sweet but not too sweet and nice flavor.

gelaton

Most of the topics at the table was about Photography, food, some business and the economy of course. SiSuk said there are thousands of factories closing in China and hundreds of thousands are being put out of work. We as a planet are truly interdependent these days. This was with us here in the States as the world largest consumers more or less driving the world markets. We stop spending everywhere hurts.

He also told me very quietly how much it cost him to go training Tai Chi in Hong Kong over the Christmas Holiday, thousands of dollars, with the classes, hotel food and the like I think he said about 30,000, maybe that was hong kong dollars, still Whoa!!

LZ and I before going to the dinner stopped and looked at an apt in the town we want to move to. Wow perfect , well nearly perfect the club house was small not a place for me to have class, but there is a large park nearby that has several lighted tennis courts at night. The apt was great all remodelled, stone counters, real fireplace, balcony with a view of S.F. and the S.F. Bay and reduced in price to the top of the range we were looking for mostly.

apt

Now I need to figure out, should I take the gamble and ( try to ) go for it with no job perse, or wait perhaps miss the chance, and trust that something as good or more better for us will come. Or that I will indeed find the work I need ( not perhaps even want but need). Or stay here paying nothing until we can not. Jheez more pressure, just what I need. Sometime it is good to have that pressure it makes one do something. Somewhat like attending class with Sifu or Sisuk because you HAVE to train. Time for Prayer, Mediation, I-ching and maybe a psychic


.

“Survival, only the strong can survive”… grand master flash

Actions

Information

One response

26 01 2009
Val

Happy New Year! That appartment looks amazing. I am sure that whatever you decide will be exactly what you need. I ching sounds good haha.

Leave a Reply

