In pursuit of Wisdom…

11 04 2009

taoIn pursuit of knowledge,
every day something is added.
In the practice of the Tao,
every day something is dropped…Tao Te Ching

I use to take this to mean things, attachments, objects, ideas, expectations, the like. I did not think of people so much as falling in to this, but people, ideals of them, how they should be, act, respond, the like are also attachments, ideas the like.

A pet peeve of mine is people, emails and my idea of rudeness, or thoughtlessness. Eg: A person I know calls me and says something like, I’m pretty frustrated, lonesome, whatever. I send an email later saying, if you like you can come to Chan practice with me. There will be several of your country mates there. I expect at least a polite No thanks. ( yeah, my fault for expecting) but I get no reply, at all…ok let it go.  This same person LZ wrote a couple of times, because she was concerned about how “they” were doing. No reply… OK, let it go. I hear from this same person later asking me about something. I reply and ask, oh did you get blah blah blah? again no reply…grrrr. A week or so later yup another email, asking something , but no mention of my question.

True mastery can be gained
by letting things go their own way.
It can’t be gained by interfering…Tai Te Ching

Another … LZ and I met a couple and went with them for a boat ride so I could take some pictures for an acquaintance. The female of the couple spoke to LZ about getting together with us, cooking, exchanging recipes, blahblah. She wants to do meditation, let her know where, she says to me.  I emailed her a few times and she was all still yup yup let’s meet still, when you are finished moving. LZ writes to her three times via email and once via facebook, no reply. Now it could be… a far out thought… that it is the boyfriend who does not want to be involved with us, because he has a problem with my skin tone. I will not go into why I think this, but LZ thought it was kind of weird as well what went down, not bad , just Okashi ( weird). Yeah I know , hard to believe in this day and age, but it does still happen.

If you close your mind in judgements
and traffic with desires,
your heart will be troubled.
If you keep your mind from judging
and aren’t led by the senses,
your heart will find peace…Tao Te Ching

I think both of these people fall under letting go of attachments, objects, ideas, non-beneficial, the like and should be crossed off my list of people to connect with. However is it letting go of my expectations concerning behavior, manners, the like? Is that a compassionate  choice, it is compassionate for me and for LZ who also thinks that behavior is uncool  ? On one hand it could be viewed as so. By just letting them go live their life as they see fit, without my judgment of  it or interaction. Do their own things as it were, life will be their teacher.

The Master sees things as they are,
without trying to control them.
She/he lets them go their own way,
and resides at the center of the circle…Tao Te Ching

On the other hand, I am still holding to my expectations of how someone should behave, which is not good, or at least realistic.  So I am not really dropping anything, other than the frustration of dealing with them and others like them, by kicking them to the curb, dropping them like a hot potato. Not because they are “bad” people, but why deal with that extra frustration in a world of crazyness. Things in life are a trade off. One door closes another opens. You cannot taste the fullness of one tea if your cup is still full of another. There is that old American saying: You can not have your cake and eat it too. I have I thought made progress in expecting things of people. Over the years and more so as I get older I think I expect little. I do not expect most folks to follow through with what they say, The old say what you mean , mean what you say thing does not apply to many.  That sort of thing. I will give the benefit of doubt once or twice.

I do know I still need more work on it though. I am still mostly a believer in the goodness of man…but still…

balance

However finding that balance in wisdom and gullible is tricky at times.

The Master observes the world
but trusts his inner vision.
He allows things to come and go.
His heart is open as the sky…Tao Te  Ching

Anyway, behavior like that bugs me, it is disappointing on a couple of levels. Something I need to work on …my side of it anyway. As for them I can only let it/them go…

So that brings me back to the interpretation of this:

In pursuit of knowledge,
every day something is added.
In the practice of the Tao,
every day something is dropped…Tao Te Ching

What is yours? Wars are fought over interpretations…

End of rant ..yosh!

Actions

Information

7 responses

12 04 2009
RickMatz

You can’t pursue wisdom. You can only be still. If you’re very still and very lucky, wisdom will come to you.

12 04 2009
Zen

Still, Lucky and open. LoL,
Hahah True, the title was suppose to be something else, … but maybe it as it should be. Like where we are. 🙂
_/|\_

12 04 2009
Frankie Perussault

I don’t go as far as you do in ‘letting things go’. I do believe that respect is a valid and valuable item of civilization… these people you’re talking about are ‘huns’!!! If they turn up with a good excuse, well, perhaps you can ‘let things go’… I also believe that it is essential that those valid and valuable items of civilization such as respect should be passed on. It is not just ‘behavior’ or ‘bad behavior’. It is lacking in fundamental respect.

12 04 2009
Zen

Heheh, my bud Frankie. Cuts right to the chase LoL!

20 04 2009
Dianna

You are way too nice and compassionate my dear friend! Such is your calling as a Buddha. I’m sure people frustrated the hell out of him (the Buddha) as well! Hee! Hee!

Oh, come on, it’s really funny!! It’s not your fault these people don’t get it. Remember, some of them will have many life times to figure it out!

I speaking from experience of course. Who knows how many times I’ve been here! And will continue to come back because of desire, ignorance, and karma. Let’s see…I was a dog, a bird, a worm (that wasn’t any fun)…a dog again…a rat…a fly…a tree, a leaf on that same tree…I can go on and on!

21 04 2009
Zen

HAhah, Gracias , you are too funny!

27 04 2009
Val

Hmmm, I just think those words are a basic pointer to the fact that we Buddhas-to-be assume that knowledge is something to acquire, and more is better. Whereas (as you rightly say) its only the attachment to all that mental stuff that keeps us from seeing our true nature, and that interbeing is the reality.

Now if I could only drop the idea that people and things are separate……..

Leave a Reply

