On the Road…Kyudo in LA

18 07 2009

I’m starting this from my room in LA. That is LA as in Los Angeles, not Louisiana, to the un- hip. I had a fairly quick drive down on Friday.  I stopped at my favorite road side restaurant on I-5 for a tuna sand and drink. They have the ceiling lined with old lunch boxes I remember from when I was a kid.

IMG_4465

They are most likely worth a bunch to a collector. Nothing other really of note to write on the drive, other than passing a large fire in the mtn’s on the way into the LA Valley.

smoke

I stopped by and saw a couple of friends who I have not seen in about 10 yrs, and then 10-15 yrs before that. They treated me to dinner

IMG_4471

(all face pictures in this series have a filter on the photo)

I trained Shotokan Karate with them. Also Chewy was my bass player when I did a few duo cafe house  gigs, played on my album demo tape and helped me learn Bass. Along with some other hippie adventures we had back in the day, including my first sailboat ride. Good times, and I’m alive to recall them…but those are other stories…

Tomorrow begins a long day of Kyudo training. I’ve been invited to Zazen and Chanting at 6:30 for two hours. TWO HOURS!! Whoa! Then Kyudo practice from 9:00am to 12:00pm. Oh , BTW the temps here in LA over the weekend will be close to 100 degrees!!

Then a lunch break until 5:30 pm and another Kyudo session from 5:30 til 10:00 pm. It will be a long day. I am expecting to meetup with some cool folks as well.  It should be Awsome…well except for the gettin up that early while on the road part…to be continued

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

