Renshu…coping

3 12 2010

The weather has warmed by about 5 degrees, it has helped my attitude. I hate being cold, and freezing. LZ says it is training. Good Kyudo Training, good Zen training. Yeah yeah, I hate it. I do not function well in the cold, I’m a tropic baby…Cold Sucks

Anyway, my mind set is better this week, I’m back to the training, and using the morning at work as my training time. I found a spot that is sort of out of the way. I can sort of see the lot ( I just have to go out from time to time to walk the lot) and I am sort of protected from the “hawk” ( wind chill) , as well as protected from casual view. I do not like feeling like on on display while doing my drills. So the Lot Dojo is born…

The five a.m. starting work time has thrown off my Zazen morning sitting. I feel 4:00 is too early to do meditation, also too easy to fall back to sleep. Now my routine is to walk the lot, then do a bit of Motion Chan and stretching, with some basic breathing. Then do Zhan zhuang ( standing meditation) followed by some walking meditation. I recall some masters saying doing meditation while engaged in the world is superior than doing meditation on the quiet of a mountain top. It is the focus/power/source behind maintaining a calm mind while doing Shaolin Kung Fu, engaged in combat, sailing in a storm, doing Kyudo.

Once these parts are done, I do some Tai Chi ( yang 24), I can still do it in the secluded area I have selected, as it is just wide and long enough, enough for me to move freely. Even with my layers of clothing I can still move enough. Perhaps it adds to the training. I have visions of elder Chinese in the mountains of northern China  practicing in my head. This is how I feel, with my layers. One pair of thermo pants under the street pants. 1 Silk Long John top, 1 cotton termo top, 1 long sleeve t-shirt,  1, short sleeve T-shirt, 1 heavy cotton sweater, then my dress uniform shirt, followed by a Uniform jacket with liner. Gloves, heavy boots, two caps and scarf around the neck. The last few days with the slightly warmer temps I have been perfect outdoors.  These are temps in the low forties. When it get down in to the 30’s I’m still cold…and suffering!

Anyway back to training, after Tai Chi, another meditation  walk around the lot. I can be seen by incoming staff, I can be seen by the watching camera of the office big brother. Following that, Hsing Yi and Mantis back in my lil Dojo, followed by another walk.

The next section is Kyudo, starting with Ashibumi, I can do this out in the middle of the lot. I can be seen and no one knows what I am doing other than just standing. I can work on my foundation, and my vertical heaven and earth reach. From time to time, I extend both arms and expand from the center like doing Kai, but from a Zanshin position ( people think I’m just stretching) . Next I go back to the Lot Dojo and get a few practice imaginary shoots in from Ashibumi through Zanshin using a heavy elastic band .

This helps keep my mind off of the job, other than watching all that happens with no mind, I can be detached yet alert to my environment. It has helped me not think about how little money I am making or the only 2o hours a week, or the rejection from the applications, or the failing health of the economy and if I will have SS money when I finally can be ready to set sail or any of the other numerous downers.  I can be unattached to these thoughts and just in the present…at least at work.

and sing to myself ” Look on Bright Side of Life

The final hour of my shift is spent walking listening to my iPod play Japanese language lessons. Little by little I am improving on many levels. Artistically well, I guess it, that part of me will just go dormant, hibernate until the “winter” is passed.

This weekend I will get a chance to recharge more, I’m not working anywhere, this one is for me. Kyudo class, then to Chan practice with some elders Sat. day time. Sat evening is a lighted boat parade. I can take some night photos. Capt Mary will come down to my Boat to check it out on Sunday and give me some feedback on getting up it setup to travel across the Pacific. You “By Land Blog” readers do not know about her, she is my sailing mentor. She shows up on my “By Sea blog”. Other than that I’ll spend some time working on the Zenamaran ( boat) and doing some Zazen on the ZenCat (boat)

This upcoming Weds will be the last class Shaolin class of the year for the city. It has been suggested by the students we have a pot luck. This will be the first for my school even with all the years of teaching. This is the first group that have had the spirit of we are a class, this is our group. This is why they are my favorite students. They have the spirit even though we do not a regular school as such. It really is not the place that makes the school it is the students.

The Pot Luck Jam at Shifu’s is coming in a couple of weeks. That should be interesting.

For the end of the year ceremony,  My Sempai and I will do another 108 arrow shoot at our private Dojo, RSD. It will be a good way to end the year.

So there will be a few more post before the end of the year. Staying with me eyes on the Bright Side of life.

Life can be like a musical… at least in your head

Actions

Information

4 responses

3 12 2010
JM

A nice song to start out the morning.
Thanks to you and LZ for reminding me that the cold is good training. I have been grumbling a bit about it myself. (Not enjoyable at all.)
Good reminders!

4 12 2010
Rick Matz

I used to work in security at a Detroit hotel. For a year I worked midnights.

After we closed down the bar, the place would generally be pretty quiet. E mpty ballrooms were a great place to practice.

11 12 2010
tajikniaz

thanks, this very good

12 12 2010
tajikniaz

life is good

Leave a Reply

