The First Shot…

31 01 2012

My days start at 3:45am I’m off to the security job. I am back home by 9:30am. I get 1 hour to nap,a little time to eat and maybe do some Zazen… maybe. Then over to the Blu Pel for a 5 hour shift. After that on Mon and Wed I have a marital Art class to teach. Thursdays night is Kyudo class. I have not been going for a while. It is about a hour drive and I have needed to do other things. Also if I go I am not home until 11:30pm which means I get about 3.5 hours sleep. I can not do that often, all the time

Tonight I went , and  I almost caused an accident doing so…

I jumped on the freeway after a short warm-up of the car. The windshield  was a bit foggy but I could see. Suddenly the windshield got very fogged and I could not see. I tried to follow the lane markers but was out of my lane back and forth trying to get my spot . Horn where blowing at me … It was scary for a moment before I could recover my spot. My guardian angel was on the job!  Yokatta!

I made it to class the rest of the way without incident and arrived on time.
There were a couple of new students and some of the old ones over all small-ish class.

Unroll my rime going through things and shot ok , not great just ok. Not surprising for being out so long. My Tenouchi was getting better, but Sensei pointed out my shoulders were raising up and too tight.

After I was packing to go I got my critique. Sweat the small stuff he said. Too much hand in your hikiwaki, use your back more, my knee was not up while I waited, relax the shoulders more.

 


So I have crack down on things starting now. The seminar and test is up coming in Aug. It is more expensive this year!!!! This will be my last American event and I do not want to waste my testing fee. Also I want to have a good positive outlook for the passage in Sept.

So I need to put in more practice on the details. That I can do some on the boat, some in the office. I DO need to spend more time/focus this year on hitting. For the Sandan test it is good to hit one. With the new harder crack-down since last year … I may HAVE to hit one…better on the first shot.

Actions

Information

4 responses

1 02 2012
Rick Matz

Chuang Tzu Story – The need to win

When an archer is shooting for fun
He has all his skill.

If he shoots for a brass buckle
He is already nervous.

If he shoots for a prize of gold
He goes blind

Or sees two targets –
He is out of his mind.

His skill has not changed,
But the prize divides him.

He cares
He thinks more of winning
Than of shooting –
And the need to win
Drains him of power.

3 02 2012
Zen

Quite right, one of my reflections…

3 02 2012
karamatsu

Well, you know what they say… if you shoot properly, the arrows will fly to the target, so shooting well (including all that small, sweaty stuff) is really the only thing that any of us have to focus on.

Sometimes I wonder if the whole purpose behind these rumors that you have to hit once, or both times, to achieve this or that piece of paper (remember what The Queen said!) is to intensify that conflict in our minds until we either resolve it or fall to The Dark Side.

3 02 2012
Zen

Indeed, and I hear the Queen’s words, whenever I think of the next challenge. You are also right in the “rumors” maybe part of the training. The point is to do our best, in that moment, with no attachment to the dream of the future. The world could end as the arrow flys

_/|\_

Leave a Reply

