Kyudo Chronicles – UC Davis – 3

25 08 2012

Day 3

It was a pretty established pattern now that we of the Renseikan dojo pretty much had our meals together. It gave us a sense of family, unity I guess. It was one of the nicer aspects of this seminar. Otherwise I would have just sat alone mostly. Not anti-social I am just on the quiet n shy side and do not like to feel I am an intruder. That is just how I roll.

It was my group’s turn to train with the head judge, Akiyama Sensei. I had heard raves reviews about her from my Chikurin ha Sempai. Gentle, detailed, precise. She was all that and a bag of chips ( slag ). I did not get a lot of correction from her. I heard the translator tell her yesterday I was corrected on my Tenouchi. From her I got, make more extension/reach on my dosukouri and uchiokoshi, keep both arms level, raise Yumi higher. Simple stuff but when added to the other stuff made for quite a list to keep track of.

One thing she went over with everyone in our group was the proper way of wearing a Hakama. I also heard the same was given to the Yondan, Godans, and Renshi’s. More so the men than the women.

There was a open practice on Thursday night. My original plan was to drive to the Hidden Dojo to get some shooting practice in. However since they had opened the dojo for practice I chose to go that route instead. Perhaps not the best choice in hindsight. My group wanted to get some entry practice in. As I was Omai I was asked to practice with them so that we would be in harmony on test day. That seriously cut into my shoot time. Perhaps it was good since I needed to refine my timing for the entrance.
We practice on our lineup and entry for about 30 min.
I was able to get some makiwara time in before that, but really wanted 28 meter time.

 

After working with my group I was able to join the line up for 28 meter. With the amount of people there to shoot I was only able to get off two arrows. One went dead center the other right next to the target. I felt a little better. I was unable to get in any more shoot time in due to the lines and my group wanted one more round of entry practice. That done it was time to leave as the gym was closing.

I was feeling better overall but still very nervous about the whole thing…as was my stomach.

However I was out of time, I had done all that I could to prepare… tomorrow were finals.

Actions

Information

2 responses

26 08 2012
karamatsu

Sounds like the uchiokoshi points are similar to what I’ve been working on. But what did she tell you about the hakama? I don’t think I’ve had any real instruction on that since the first time I put one on, yet like everything else I’m sure there are fine points.

26 08 2012
Fuu Miyatani French

Ahh, she had us redo the knot, several wraps before tying square knot , do not wrap the strap under the hips, it is a high school kids style, the obi needed the bump of a knot in rear to rest the hard part on, wrap the rear strap under the front for extra secure. There was something else but I do not recall right now.

Leave a Reply

