Kyudo Season…Hanare

22 12 2009

…When the conditions of the full draw have been fulfilled, the release will be its results

Today was sunny, cool as is expected in Dec but still comfortable. I had a early morning Tai Chi/Kung Fu class to teach. I was  a bit more picky today about the students performance, or expression of the movement perhaps is a better term. I wonder how much of an influence the last weekend of Kyudo practice had to do with that, or just my general state of mind. Hard to believe it was a full week ago we had the Kyudo Alliance gathering. Yet I’m still feeling the presence of it. Perhaps it has to do with writing this blog and setting up the photos on it that keeps it so fresh in my mind.

The afternoon was a Kyudo practice session out at Mare Island Tanuki Dojo with the clan. It was suppose to be basicly a review on Tai Hai. I was all for that as I fell weak still on the presentation of it. There are still a couple of details I am not comfortable with. When we arrived, it turned into a impromptu meeting discussing edict and procedures. Also a big part of the discussion was Kyudo Politics. It is sad how much in fighting and back stabbing is going on among the various factions, not just one or two of them but most of them, not just the Federation but most of them. So sad, sickening makes me vomit blood ( a Chinese saying). Anyway as I said to someone later that evening, it very sad our ( humans) ego screw up so many good things, and that is the Human condition we need to always be on guard against, this is our lifelong demon.Then there are those who decide they are going to make a personal vendetta against certain a group and shame them about their action. By using another group against them. Is not that yet another form of political BS? “can’t we all just get along”…Rodney King

I got in a fair amount of practice on Sat. recalling things suggested to work on. The right arm and the draw where a big thing, still struggling to find the right way. I tried to keep in mind Marcus Sensei’s hand placement in the crock of my right arm as I drew, but still did not feel quite right. We as a group put in some time going through Tai Hai. It is much easier when you do not have to hold a position whilst someone gets instruction. That is brutal!

I did not give much thought to aiming as I was more concentrating on my form, and grip. Whenever one (me) adjusts one thing it changes my targeting. My next upcoming class on Sunday is with my Renmei Sensei. I will compare what he has to say about my form with what I have been doing. I really appreciate him donating time to help anyone who is wanting to learn Kyudo. If not for people like him I would not be able to train. I do not plan on being a Kyudo instructor,  yet I will need to pay it forward when the time comes however the karma manifests itself.

——

My final event for the day was off to my Shifu’s for a Christmas party almost a 1.5 hour drive from the Kyudo dojo. It is always nice to hang with my family there. I was poured a Brandy eggnog almost as soon as I got settled and did the handshakes, afterward I was told what was veggie foods. I was ready to eat having not eaten as yet.

There were a couple of SiHings I had not expected to see and a pretty full-house of people. There was lots of food and drink.

I had fun hanging with my Tai Chi Mantis classmates at the end of the big table laughing at kung fu stuff with the advance students. They are my first extended family. It was like a Kung Fu movie in a way with the big leaning back laughs. No politics, no sub plots, the BS was in fun, It was a good ending to the day.

_/|\_


Actions

Information

3 responses

29 12 2009
Ed Symmes

I OFTEN THINK OF RODNEY KING’S COMMENT. Thanks for putting it out there again. Ed

13 01 2010
JM

I always enjoy your writings!
Glad to have run across this one as well and I couldn’t agree more… “Can’t we all just get along!”

8 03 2016
Tyesha Birkline

Right here is the right website for anyone who hopes to understand this topic. You understand so much its almost hard to argue with you (not that I actually would want to?HaHa). You definitely put a fresh spin on a topic that’s been discussed for years. Great stuff, just great!

Leave a comment